Oct 132016


Bryan Wong was one of over 100 TNT swimmers who competed at the Visalia TNT Fall Meet over the second weekend of October, and he puts on the first of what is surely to be only the beginning of an upcoming series of team record-breaking performances within this new training and competition cycle entering the short course season. Bryan swam the 200 yard breaststroke event for the very first time, and clocked a time of 2:38.02 in the event to take home the win, and slid under Preston Niayesh’s team record of 2:38.06 that was set at Far Westerns three years ago. Bryan’s time currently stands as the 37th fastest nationally for boys at age 12. The new national reporting cycle began at the beginning of last month, and there are currently 250 times posted nationally for this gender and age.

Our team maintained an improvement rate of 48%, and Bryan also maintained one of the highest improvement rates by improving five of his six events. Sixteen TNT swimmers improved 100% of their times as they perform in the early phase of this next short course season, and they include: Megan Bairstow (improving 2 of her 2 events), Isabel Burrough (4 of 4), Jacob Chambers (2 of 2), Tomas Contreras (6 of 6), Gabrielia Costamagna (1 of 1), Sarah Do-Reynoso (2 of 2), Colin Duffy (2 of 2), Jillian Duffy (1 of 1), Xavier Gutierrez (5 of 5), Jackson Huckabay (2 of 2), Jonas Huckabay (2 of 2), Marlene Mansour (1 of 1), Levi Porter (2 of 2), Ivan Rodriguez (2 of 2), Josh Wee (5 of 5), and Benjamin Wheeler (3 of 3).

A few of our swimmer remained uncontested in the few events that they competed in. Alonso Escobedo was undefeated in both the 15-over 200 back (2:01.90), and 200 IM (2:02.42) events, while Selma’s Logan Huckabay won each of his four events in the 6-under division, including the 25 free (19.56), 50 breast (1:08.01), 50 fly (59.08), and 100 IM (2:00.53) events. JD Koster came in on Sunday to win his three events that included the 200 breast (2:16.23), 200 fly (2:06.98), and 400 IM (4:25.50) for the 15-over division, while Alex Roberts also came in on Sunday where she won the 13-14 100 back (1:02.79) and 400 IM (5:00.42) events. Visalia’s Tyson Phillips took home the gold in the 7-8 50 free (42.30), 25 breast (28.79), and 50 back (50.34) events. Other event champions included: Libby Adriaansen (winning two events), Nathan Boudreaux (2 events), Janessa Bringe (2), Ciara Clarke (1), Layla Flores (6), Mackenzie Garza (4), Lauren Geiger (1), Diego Gutierrez (1), Toby Jones (1), Rylee Lord (3), Mia Nelsen (1), Karuna Perry (1), Gage Price (3), Garrison Price (1), Micah Ruiz (3), Katherine Sullivan (1), Jake Surratt (3), Jacob Wheeler (1), Alexa Wong (2), Bryan Wong (6), and Bryce Wong (7).

 Posted by at 01:44