Mar 312009

Forty nine TNT swimmers competed at the Porterville long course meet during the second weekend of March. Several of our young swimmers noticed and commented on their observation that TNT swimmers took up many of the lanes in various heats while at the meet. The Porterville meet was the first long course meet in the state, and gave our swimmers an opportunity to reestablish times for the long course season. Of our 49 swimmers, 24 swam their first long course meet with TNT. Welcome to: Jake and Joshua Caminero; Taralyn and Trevor DeLeeuw; Jonathan Granada; Luke and Seth Gregory; August Guerrero; Katelyn Herrera; Chris Hopkins; Thys Jacobi; Makayla Jordan; Jakob Koorey; Conor Martin; Athena, Jazmine and Preston Niayesh; Kara and Megan Nino; Drake Nunes; Nick Orton; Adrianna Pedro; Breann Santos and Andrea Truong.

Our team maintained an overall time improvement of 63% during this first long course meet. Twenty-five swimmers had pre-established long course times with the team, and five of them improved all events entered. Congratulations to Jimmy and Josh Koster, Madison McCarthy, Carter and Talyor Shaw who all improved 100% of their times. The following swimmers improved 50% or more of their times: Savanah Nolan (75%), Khloe McCarthy (71%), Madison Elick (67%), Allison Ross (67%), Chris Hansen (50%), Sam Hansen (50%), and Christopher Nolan (50%).

Seventeen of our swimmers swam to first place finishes in their events. These included Wesley Coles (100 free & 100 fly), Alex Ellis (100 back & 200 back), Chris Ewins (100 fly), Hannah Giles (800 free), Jonathan Granada (100 free, 50 fly, 200 free, 50 free & 100 fly), Sam Hansen (200 IM, 200 breast, 800 free, 200 free, 100 breast, 200 back & 400 free), Katelyn Herrera (100 free, 100 breast, 50 fly, 200 free, 50 free & 100 fly), Thys Jacobi (50 free), Khloe McCarthy (100 back), Madison McCarthy (100 free, 50 back, 100 back & 50 free), Jazmine Niayesh (50 back, 50 breast & 50 free), Preston Miayesh (100 breast, 50 breast & 100 back), Megan Nino (50 back), Christopher Nolan (100 breast, 200 free, 50 breast & 100 fly), Savanah Nolan (100 breast), Nathan Rhea (100 back, 200 breast & 200 free) and Breann Santos (50 fly).

High point awards were also distributed at the meet, and TNT had four swimmers who acquired more points than anyone else in their age group. The following swimmers won the high point award in their respective age group: Jazmine Niayesh (6-under girls), Madison McCarthy (7-8 girls), Jonathan Granada (9-10 boys) and Katelyn Herrera (11-12 girls).

 Posted by at 17:02