Sep 282011


 The most impressive observation from the Selma meet was the 97 TNT swimmers who were entered and competed at the meet. Seventy-three of our swimmers had previously recorded times in 50 yard or longer events with the team, and these swimmers maintained a 64% improvement rate. Twenty of these swimmers improved all events entered, and they included: Tristian Abell, Matthew Bivens, Justin Bos, Morgan Coddington, Paige Coddington, Tomas Contreras, Peyton Costa, Chris Ewins, Laurne Geiger, Emily Goodbar, Chris Hansen, Noah Haworth, Lily Hodges, Chrystelle Jaramillo, Jakob Koorey, Jacqui Koster, Josh Koster, Emily Sullivan, Ivan Villalvazo and Nicholas Yribarren.

Twenty-seven swimmers recorded short-course times in events 50 yards or longer for the first time while at the meet. A welcome goes to: Keiren Arakawa, Demaris, Avila, Chase Belflower, Damian Brown, Makaira, Chavez, Malakai Chavez, Paige Costa, Khori Cranford, Tara Fry, Lucas Huckabay, Rachel Just, Zachary Just, Anna Lehrman, Tyler Mauldin, Hannah Mukai, Madison Pallares, Zakery Phillips, Miranda Pimentel, Seiji Shinkawa, Shoji Shinkawa, Victoria Valdez, Isabella Vaughn, Mikayla Vierra and Colin Watamura.

The meet recognized swimmers competing within individual age categories, opposed to age-group categories. Nine of our swimmers were uncontested as they took home 1st place finishes in all events they competed in. Bre Abell won each of 4 events in for 15 year old girls, while Ian Belflower took home 1st place finishes in his 4 events for 7-year old boys. Wes Coles was the champion in 4 events for the 17-year old boys division, while Peyton Costa swept 8 of 8 events for the 8-year old boys. Teammates Alexies Ledesma (100 free, 100 fly, 200 back & 200 free) and Anna Lehrman (50 free, 100 breast, 200 IM & 500 free) split 8 events, winning 4 each for 16 year old girls division, while sister Emily Lehrman took home 1st place finishes in 4 events (50 free, 100 breast, 200 IM & 500 free). 

Preston Niayesh dominated the 10-year old boys division winning all 8 events he swam (50 free, 50 breast, 100 fly, 50 back, 100 breast, 50 fly, 100 back & 200 IM). His 100 breaststroke event also broke the team record of 1:19.27 that was set by Dax Korenwinder at Junior Olympics earlier this year. Preston swam 1:18.28 and is a time that currently ranks

Our other event champions, along with their age and number of events won, included: Danielle Albright (age 8 – winning 3), Owen Ansel (14-3), Malakai Chavez (7-1), Morgan Coddington (12-7), Allyson Duffy (13-1), Madison Ekizian (14-1), Jayce Ford (7-5), Skylar Ford (9-7), Nadia Garabedian (7-6), Lauren Geiger (12-2), Emily Goodbar (14-7), Kyle Grissom (13-6), Chris Hansen (14-4), Noah Haworth (13-2), Katelyn Herrera (14-2), Lily Hodges (9-1), Jackson Huckabay (9-5), Jonas Huckabay (11-2), Chrystelle Jaramillo (13-1), Michael Jia (11-4), Toby Jones (8-1), Jakob Koorey (11-1), Mallory Korenwinder (13-3), JD Koster (10-1), Colin Landweer (16-4), Conor Martin (15-1), Khloe McCarthy (13-2), Madison McCarthy (11-2), Javiar Morales (16-1), Sarid Morales (12-1), Cody Nash (15-1), Mia Newkirk (13-5), Jazmine Niayesh (8-6), Megan Nino (15-3), Chris Nolan (15-2), Madison Pallares (10-1), Nathan Rhea (16-3), Micah Ruiz (12-4), Taylor Shaw (15-1), Satoshi Shinkawa (11-1), Shoji Shinkawa (6-4), Katherine Sullivan (9-1), Mark Tiersma (12-1), Justin Warner (12-3), Scott Yribarren (18-4).


 Posted by at 08:06