Dec 112012


Eight team records were established while our team competed at the Pacific Senior Championships hosted by the Terrapin team in Concord with Kyle Grissom setting records in three of his four events, and each record was previously his. His time of 22.38 in the 50 freestyle topped his Merced time of 22.58, and now the time stands as the 9th fastest time on record by any swimmer in the nation at age 14. His 100 freestyle time of 50.40 also bettered his Merced time of 50.70, and becomes the 66th fastest time in the nation. His most impressive current national ranking came in the 100 fly where his time of 52.56 is posted as the second fast time nationally.


Mallory Korenwinder improved her Merced record in the 100 breaststroke with her 1:05.52 by a tenth of a second. Her time stands as the fifth fastest nationally for all 14-year old girls. Chris Nolan swam another top-10 ranking swimming 1:51.20 in the 200 fly event that went under Kohlton Norys’s 1:51.38 that he swam at the Winter Invitational in 2006. Chris’s time currently stands as the 4th fastest in the nation for any male swimmer at age 16.


Katelyn Herrera came away with two team records in the distance events, beginning with her 10:41.57 in the 1000 freestyle on Friday. Katelyn had set the record earlier in the year with a 11:07.57 at the Selma meet. Her time currently stands as the 43rd fastest in the nation for all 15-year old girls. Her 1650 time of 17:54.75 went under Sherlyn Ricablanca’s team record of 19:05.61 that was set in Lemoore back in 1992. Katelyn’s time is the 24th fastest time on record by any 15-yer old girl in the nation.

Butterflyer, and fifteen year old Emily Goodbar of Selma improved her team record in the 100 fly to a 59.81, becoming the first female in the history of the team in the 15-18 age group to swim under the minute mark. Her time is the 122nd fastest nationally for the age as she swam twice under her previous team record of 1:00.35 from the Selma meet. 

2012terrapin2.jpg  2012-terrapin3.jpg

The top 30 competitors in each event in Concord earned the right to swim in the Championship, Consolation or Bonus final heats. No surprise that Kohlton Norys maintained the highest place finish competing undefeated at the meet winning all five events he had entered: 100 back (47.74), 50 free (20.62), 200 free (1:40.59), 100 free (44.46) and 100 back (47.74). Our next highest finish was second, and both Nathan Rhea and Chris Nolan accomplished the runner-up finishes in their respective events. Nathan finished second in the 400 IM (4:09.14), while Chris finished 2nd in the 200 fly (1:51.20). Nathan swam to the championship heat in two additional events that included an eighth place finish in the 200 IM (1:57.44) and 10th place finish in the 200 breaststroke (2:11.66-prelim), while Chris finished fifth in the 100 fly (51.71-prelim) and 9th in the 200 breaststroke (2:13.02-prelim).


Other championship swims came from Emily Goodbar who finished 8th in the 200 fly (2:07.39) and 9th in the 400 IM (4:34.38), Katelyn Herrera who finished 8th in the 1000 free (10:41.37), Mallory Korenwinder finished 4th in the 100 breaststroke (1:05.52-prelim) and 7th in the 200 breaststroke (2:24.41). Colin Landweer had his highest finish in the 1000 free at 5th (9:51.97). Consolation finalists included Emily Goodbar in the 200 IM (2:11.91 – 17th) and 100 fly (1:00.12 – 17th). Kyle Grissom in the 100 fly (52.56 – 12th) and 50 free (22.38 – 13th), Mallory Korenwinder in the 200 IM (2:12.65 – 20th), Colin Landweer in the 50 free (22.23 – 12th) and 100 free (48.28 – 12th), Nathan Rhea in the 100 breast (1:00.48 – 14th) and 100 back (54.54 – 15th), and Matt Tashima in the 50 free (22.51 – 20th). 


Our remaining finalists earned a spot in the bonus finals, the they included Josh Avila in the 200 breaststroke (24th), Emily Goodbar in the 500 free (28th), Chris Hansen in the 200 breast (29th), Katelyn Herrera in the 500 free (28th), Mallory Korenwinder in the 100 back (30th), Colin Landweer in the 200 IM (21st), 100 fly (26th), 100 breast (25th), and 100 back (25th), Nathan Rhea in the 200 fly (23rd), and Matt Tashima in the 100 free (29th).


The list below reflects selected events from some of our team. Congratulations to first time participant: Owen Ansel, Joseph Cobarrubias, Morgan Coddington, Laruen Davis, Tracy Hannan, Noah Haworth, Sierra Jett, Conor Martin, Alex Metzner, Cody Nash, and Jeremiah Santillana:


 Posted by at 21:49