May 092016

2016 TNT Spring LC

TNT hosted a relatively early long course meet at the Reedley complex over the fourth weekend of April where 72 TNT swimmers competed along with teams throughout the central valley, including Fresno State University, and Fresno Pacific University. One team record was broken by two individuals competing in the 11-12 boys division. Both Gage Price and Benjamin Wheeler swam under the pre-existing record in the 11-12 boys 200 meter backstroke event that was set by Parker Giles at the Bakersfield meet four years ago in the summer of 2012 as a 2:52.15. At age 11, Gage Price slid under the pre-existing record with a time of 2:52.09. Gage is our team’s current team record holder in the 100 yard butterfly event for the 10-under age division, and his 200 meter backstroke time currently ranks 43rd fastest nationally for boys at age 11. Competing alongside Gage was Ben Wheeler who took home the win in the event with a time of 2:49.17, and becomes the current record holder in the event. His new record stands as the 86th fastest nationally for boys at age 12. Ben is also our team’s current team record holder in the 200 yard backstroke event.

Our team maintained a 56% improvement rate with the following seventeen swimmers improving 100% of their swims that have been previously recorded with our team. Congratulations to: Ella Betancourt (improving 3 of 3 events), Alejandro Cardenas (3 of 3), Ciara Clarke (4 of 4), Audrey Gutierrez (3 of 3), Diego Gutierrez (4 of 4), Isaac Gutierrez (5 of 5), Xavier Gutierrez (3 of 3), Jonas Huckabay (2 of 2), Emma Jimenez (1 of 1), Drew Johnston (4 of 4), Isabella Klawitter (2 of 2), JD Koster (1 of 1), Gage Price (2 of 2), Edward Rodriquez (5 of 5), Shoji Shinkawa (3 of 3), Claire Welborn (2 of 2), and Bryan Wong (7 of 7).

Event champions included those who swam uncontested in their respective eevnts at the meet, and these swims were led by Visalia’s Ciara Clarke who won five of her seven events, Porterville’s Diego Gutierrez who won five of his six events, and 8-year old Luckas Huckabay who remained uncontested in all four of his events. Other quadruple winners included: Porterville’s Isaac Gutierrez, Gage Price, Alex Roberts, and Bryan Wong. Our remaining event champions include: Libby Adriaansen, Danielle Albright, Drew Black, Mikenna Curtis, Kate Frost, Tristan Gaines, Xavier Gutierrez, Logan Huckabay, Dylan Hunt, Tanner Kelm, Isabella Klawitter, Mallory Korenwinder, JD Koster, Rylee Lord, Genoveve Mcilwaine, Ava Olson, Garrison Price, Micah Ruiz, Satoshi Shinkawa, Wyatt Ward, Benjamin Wheeler, Alexa Wong, and Bryce Wong.

Congratulations also go to the following nine swimmers for posting new long course times with the team: Ciena Clarke, Katherine Forbes, Logan Huckabay, Tanner Kelm, Madison Mcginnis, Hunter Sartin, Erika Vandermaarl, Haley Vandermaarl, and Kate Welborn.

 Posted by at 22:28