Feb 092022

At a swim meet typically geared towards providing opportunity for swimmers to achieve Junior Olympic time standards, fifteen-year-old Alexa Wong took the opportunity to swim the 1650-yard freestyle (i.e. “mile”) for the very first time, and in doing so, set a new team record with a time of 17:39.74, which was well under the 15-18 record of 17:45.35 that was set by Katelyn Herrera at Sectionals in 2014. Alexa’s new team record also falls under the team’s Senior record, since her time also slid under Danielle Albright’s 13-14 age group record of 17:40.29 set at a Clovis meet in 2016. Alexa’s time currently stands as the 69th fastest nationally for girls at age15.

Approximately 75 TNT swimmers competed at the BC Championships held in Visalia over the first weekend of February, in preparation of the Junior Olympics will occurs two weeks out. A level of meet that does not typically result in rankings among our all-time top-100 list, four swimmers did just that. A pair of our sixteen-year-old female swimmers (Marison Avlarez and Mia Buller) braved the distance event of the 1000 freestyle, posting times of 12:47.05 and 11:51.51 respectively, ranked in the 15-over list, while 12-year-old Nathan Boudreaux swam the 200-breaststroke event for the first time, and posted a Top-100 ranking in the 11-12 boys division with his time of 2:43.45 right out of the shoot. Eleven-year-old Regan Hildreth took on one of the most difficult races for the first time, and posted a ranking in the 11-12 girls 400 IM with a time of 5:27.26 while still on the bottom of the age division.

When considering only those events previously recorded with the team in distances 50 yards or longer, congratulations to the following swimmers who improved 100% of their times: Hannah Beer (age 8), Nathan Boudreaux (12), Mia Buller (16), Aubree Carlock (11), Brody Diaz (9), Gabriela Dutra (15), Logan Hildreth (15), Regan Hildreth (11), Isabella Klawitter (16), Makenzie Krum (9), Willa Lasse (8), Marlee Lininger (13), Ada Maher (8), Jett Mahoney (6), Benita Marshall (9), Noa Martin (9), Makayla McGuire (14), Casey Minnig (12), Sophie Nelsen (14), Tyson Phillips (13), Danny Rodriguez (14), Payton Rose (12), Brooke Seliskar (9), Trig Seliskar (12), Jacquene Taylor (9), Ryker Thornton (10), and Adelyn Watkins.

Congratulations also go to the many swimmers who posted new times with the team in events 50 yards or longer. They include: Marisol Alvarez, Nya Awbrey, Josephine Batres, Hannah Beer, Nathan Boudreaux, Mia Buller, McKenzie Chavez, Faith Contreras, Jayce DeRuiter, Sophie Ericson, Mya Figallo, Agusting Gonzalez, Logan Hildreth, Regan Hildreth, Kody Kevorkian, Makayla McGuire, Ayla Morgan, Sophie Nelson, Caleb Newman, Evelynn Newman, Kelechi Nnadi, Ayane Rivello, Danny Rodriguez, Payton Rose, Jacqueline Taylor, Lia Tena, Allison Tos, Elsy Witt, Alexa Wong, than Zuniga and Owen Zuniga.

 Posted by at 23:35