Sep 222011


Nine of the nearly 30 swimmers that comprised the Central California Swimming All Star team came from our various TNT programs. Three of our swimmers contributed to the overall efforts of the team by scoring in individual events. Individual point getters from TNT were led by 15-year old Chris Nolan who scored in four of his six events, and became the event champion in the 200 meter butterfly event with a time of 2:12.32. He had two 4th place finishes, one in the 200 breaststroke (2:36.41) and 400 IM (4:56.86 – prelim time), and finally a 7th place finish in the 100 fly (1:01.36).

Preston Niayesh earned second swims in three of his six 10-under events by finishing 2nd in the 100 breaststroke (1:26.31), 3rd in his 50 breaststroke (39.70), and 7th in the 50 fly (35.03-prelim time). Additionally, after setting the team record in both the 50 and 100 meter breaststroke while at Junior Olympics only two weeks earlier, Preston re-set those records with significant drops at Zones. His 100 breaststroke is currently the 10th fastest time in the nation for all 10-year old boys, while his 50 breaststroke is currently the 13th fastest on record. 

Our other finalist came from 13-year old Mallory Korenwinder who swam to a 6th place finish in the 100 breaststroke (1:17.38) and a 7th place finish in the 100 fly (1:06.33). Mallory’s 100 fly broke one of the longest standing records on the books. While only 13-years old, Lynnie North had set the record as a 1:07.08 during the Zone meet 21 years ago in 1990. Mallory, also while only 13-years old, swam well under the standard with her 1:06.33. Her time currently ranks as the 41st fastest in the nation for all 13-year old girls.

Seven of our 9 swimmers maintained improvement percentages at or above 50% and they were led by the 83% improvement rate of Allyson Duffy. Others who improved at least half of their swims included: Chris Nolan (71%), Emily Goodbar (67%), Katelyn Herrera (67%), Mallory Korenwinder (67%), JD Koster (50%) and Preston Niayesh (50%).

Congratulations to all swimmers including Kyle Grissom and Khloe McCarthy for qualifying, and on their performance at the meet. Best of luck to all swimmers in qualifying to next year’s meet to be held in Colorado.

 Posted by at 03:31